The Delta Health Alliance

Delta Heart Health Network

The Health Rural Services Agency (HRSA), Office of Rural Health has awarded Delta Health Alliance $944, 871 a year for three years in funding to specifically address cardiovascular disease and its impact along with obesity in 21 counties. The MS Delta Heart Health project, through enhancing electronic health records, will identify patients who are particularly at risk for cardiovascular disease and analyze gaps in care in this patient group and across the patient population of the service area through the Mississippi Health Information Network and electronic health records systems. The initiative is a collaborative effort between Aaron Henry Community Health Centers, Dr. Arenia C Mallory Community Health Centers, and the Leland Medical Clinic, which is supported by Delta Health Alliance.

According to Karen Matthews, Delta Health Alliance CEO, “This funding will allow clinicians access to evidence-based, best practice standards of care for cardiovascular disease and customs treatment plans to better assist patients in making health care choices, particularly those living in rural areas.”

In addition to using enhanced electronic health records alerts, Delta Health Alliance will increase care transition services and care coordination between area providers through education by using trained outreach workers to facilitate care coordination and work with patients between the hospital setting and out-patient clinic. These trained health workers will assist new discharged patients with understanding medications and post-discharge orders from the doctor and support services (nutrition counseling, transportation, home visits) and help patients avoid a quick readmission into the hospital.   The goal of the grant is to lower health care costs while ensuring that patients receive more timely and personal care without having to re-enter a hospital.

Patients will also have access to nutrition education services and mental health counseling, both necessary areas of improved health care for patients dealing with cardiovascular and obesity-related health issues.

The 21 counties include Attala, Benton, Bolivar, Carroll, Coahoma, Grenada, Holmes, Lafayette, Leflore, Marshall, Montgomery, Panola, Quitman, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tippah, Tunica, Union, Washington, and Yalobusha.

For more information about this grant or about Delta Health Alliance, please visit our website at or follow DHA on Facebook.